KLEENEX / LILLIPUT - 'First Songs' Double LP

KLEENEX / LILLIPUT - 'First Songs' Double LP

Regular price $19.99 Sale


Legendary Swiss punk band from the late 70s. “You can’t dispute Liliput’s status as pioneers of feminist art-punk. Along with fellow travelers like the Slits and the Raincoats, this (mostly) female Swiss group took advantage of punk’s anything-goes attitude and created jittery, spirited pop that was both in step with the times and completely singular. The early material is a riot of exuberant energy, taking stylistic cues from peers like Gang of Four and Wire— propulsive bass, skittering pop rhythms, slashing guitars— and adding distinctive overlapping vocal patterns, which are sung, shrieked, and hiccupped in three languages and made-up dadaistic slang. More than 20 years on, it still sounds fresh.” – Lisa Gidley

First Songs is a doulbe gatefold LP that combines all the pre-1982 material, all 3 Kleenex singles, the first 2Liliput 7"’s and all the originally unreleased material prior to Liliput’s debut LP. Liner notes by Greil Marcus.

A1 –Kleenex Ain’t You 
A2 –Kleenex Beri-Beri 
A3 –Kleenex Madness
A4 –Kleenex Krimi
A5 –Kleenex 1978
A6 –Kleenex Nighttoad
A7 –Kleenex Hedi's Head
B1 –Kleenex Ü
B2 –Kleenex You
B3 –Kleenex Nice 
B4 –Kleenex DC-10 
B5 –Liliput Die Matrosen
B6 –Liliput Split
C1 –Liliput Hitch Hike
C2 –Liliput Eisiger Wind
C3 –Liliput Igel
C4 –Liliput Türk
C5 –Liliput Wig-Wam
C6 –Liliput Thmlerdoll
D1 –Liliput Tisko
D2 –Liliput Turn The Table
D3 –Liliput Dolly Dollar
D4 –Liliput I Had A Dream
D5 –Liliput When The Cat's Away